Healthy Fast Food Meal Choices! Under 500 calories – McDonalds, Subway, & more! - Mind Over Munch
7 Foods You'd Never Guess Are Packed With Gluten
If seeing a package of bacon sporting a “” label makes you want to do an Anderson Cooper-style eyeroll, don’t be so fast to judge. Yes, the obsession with gluten has led to some outlandish claims, but the truth is, people with sensitivities to the protein, which occurs naturally in grains including wheat, rye, and barley, have to be on the lookout for more than just carbs. And it can pop up in some truly surprising places.
“In commercial packaging and processing, gluten is often added to many meat and protein products,” says Kristen F. Gradney, R.D., director of Our Lady of the Lake Regional Medical Center in Baton Rouge and a spokesperson for the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics. Generally, these additions come in the form of wheat-based fillers, making it crucial to read the labels on what you buy if you're serious about avoiding gluten. Gradney says you should watch out for the following ingredients: wheat starch, hydrolyzed vegetable protein, modified food starch. Also, "some seasoning blends have wheat-based fillers but do not list them out—they may only say, 'seasoning blend,'" she says. When in doubt, hold out for a certified "gluten-free" label.
Gradney shared with us some of the most unexpected sources of gluten. Read on for some big surprises:
Licorice, gum, and some chocolates
Get your sweet tooth fix elsewhere—wheat flour tends to be the second ingredient in the red and black candy, and many brands of gum use flour to prevent the product from sticking to the packaging. Some store-bought chocolate uses gluten as a thickener as well.
Related: 5 Myths About Going Gluten-Free
The spuds themselves are perfectly fine, but flavors like BBQ and sour cream can often come from wheat starch (although Gradney adds that this isn't a hard-and-fast rule). If in doubt, hold out for specifically gluten-free versions of your favorite flavor.
(Hit the reset button—and burn fat like crazy with !)
Many brands use wheat-based fillers so check labels carefully and avoid flavors like BBQ or honey baked, which are blends that can come from wheat starch.
We tried Papa John's new gluten-free pizza crust—here's what happened:
Sorry, General Tso fans—this salty Asian condiment contains wheat. Sub tamari sauce, which has a similar umami flavor, instead.
Related: 7 Nutritionist-Approved Rules for Ordering Chinese Takeout
One of gluten’s defining attributes is its glue-like ability to help bind foods. Thus, it’s used in a lot of faux meat products, such as seitan and veggie burgers. Tofu and tempeh are generally safer bets, as long as no fillers have been added to them.
If malt vinegar is listed among the ingredients, hands off! Malt comes from barley. Ditto any pickled product—look for those made with white vinegar, which is gluten-free.
Related: What’s Worse For Your Bod: Sugar Or Salt?
Like pickles, some brands of the squeezable yellow condiment may contain malt vinegar. It’s also not uncommon for manufacturers to add wheat flour to the stuff. Dry mustard is generally safe.
Video: Young Dolph "Pulled Up" ft. 2 Chainz & Juicy J (Starring DC Young Fly) (WSHH - Official Music Video)
Gucci Won’t Offer Sales for Holidays
Water Exercises With the Burdenko Method
Horror Movies 101: The scariest films to re-watch this Halloween
Travel Hacking: Level Two
A New Health Risk For Teen Athletes
Women spend 500 after being dumped
You’ll Never Want to Leave the House Without Wearing Sunscreen After Seeing This
Everything You Need to Know About AMRAP Workouts
The Healthiest Cheap Food in America
10 Vagina Things Guys Dont Care About
How to Avoid Office Politics
Get Ready: The Girls Season 2 Trailer is Here